California Car Insurance Quote
The annual average cost for car insurance premiums in California during 2003 was $950, which was pretty close to the national average of around $914. While this cost seems to be average compared to the rest of the nation, most Californians paid too much for their car insurance because they mistakenly believed that their insurance costs were set by the state and the insurance companies. The truth, however, is that discounted rates on car insurance are out there, and the best place to go to find them is quotecarinsurance.com.
Trends seem to indicate that 2007 will bring a .5% to 1% drop in the cost of car insurance premiums, which is the first such drop since 1999. The service of sites like quotecarinsurance.com has been fundamental in bringing about this decrease. Since consumers can now comparison shop from the comfort of their own homes, insurance companies have been forced to make their premiums more affordable.
California has also seen rates change over the past several years. In 1999, for example, Californians paid an average of $771 for their premiums. Compared to the 2003 rate, this was an increase of around 23.22% in just 4 years! The best way to make sure that you are not paying too high of a premium, and get your premiums closer to this lower number, is to request a free quote from quotecarinsurance.com today.
Another thing to consider when shopping for car insurance in the state of California is the minimum requirements you must have based on the state's laws. Under California law, you must be proven guilty of being the cause of an accident before you or your insurance company can be asked to pay for any of the costs of the accident. This is called a tort system. Many states follow a similar system, but you need to visit our State Insurance Regulators page to find a link to your state's website in order to learn about the specific details of your state's tort system.
Under California state law, all drivers must have certain basic coverage, known as 15/30/5 coverage. The 15 stands for the $15,000 Bodily Injury Liability minimum amount per injured person. As part of this Bodily Injury Liability minimum, you must also have a total of at least $30,000 per accident. The 5 stands for the Property Damage Liability Coverage minimum of $5,000.
Most insurance companies will offer some other coverage options you may want to purchase, but these are not required by state law. For example, if you want to have any reasonable and necessary medical expenses for you and those in your car covered after you are in an accident, you will need to purchase a Personal Injury Protection policy, or PIP. You may also want to get an Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage option, which will cover any injury caused by an uninsured driver.
At quotecarinsurance.com, we can save you money on your car insurance, no matter what your driving record may be. We work hard to make our site user-friendly and up-to-date. You may even be able to purchase your policy online after receiving your quote. To begin the process, all you need to do is enter your zip code! If you are not shopping in the Golden State, we can still provide you with a quote. Simply give us your zip code and we will get started saving you money!